Product Endorsement

I finally ran out of my favorite foundation, Prescriptives Virtual Matte, and I cannot buy any more because the company has unfortunately gone under.  This makes me very sad as I have tried a million foundations and it was one of the few I found that matched my skin tone (super pale, but with olive/yellow undertones) and kept my skin from getting either too dry or too oily.  I need to find a replacement as I cannot even coax a few drops out of the jar with a Q-Tip.

Some possible contenders:

Nars Sheer Glow

It’s non-comedogenic and fragrance free, which is great because my skin is highly blemish prone.  It also has their ‘skin brightening formula’ which helps to diffuse the appearance of any minor discolorations, and who doesn’t want that?  It doesn’t have any SPF, which is a downside, but I wear a moisturizer with at least SPF 30, so it’s not too problematic, I suppose.  Also, this is not oil-free, which is usually a necessity for my skin.

Chanel Teint Innocence

I have heard good things about Chanel’s Teint Innocence in numerous interviews with celebrities, but I have never known anyone personally who has used it…anyone out there have personal stories to share?  It has minimal SPF, but it is oil-free.  Also, it supposedly goes on light and you can layer it to determine the right amount of coverage.

Laura Mercier Oil-Free Foundation

Admittedly, I have never used anything by Laura Mercier, but I see it at Blue Mercury and am curious to try it out, particularly because it has won awards from both InStyle and Allure magazines.  This is another oil-free formula that is touted as very lightweight, which is great because I don’t like to feel the makeup on my face.

Anyone have thoughts on these three?  Any other great foundations I am missing out on?  I think it’s often hard to make a product recommendation for things like lotions and foundations simply because they are so personal to your individual skin tone, type and sensitivity.  Still, if there is something you adore, I would love the suggestion!

Additionally, I already have mineral makeup, but I’m not a huge fan.  It just doesn’t provide the type of coverage or the evenness that I need.  Also, tinted moisturizers have not worked out well for me because of my coverage needs.

  1. Prescriptive has gone down under?! I didnt know that..

    Ive heard a lot of good things from the NARS..

    personally I used Dior.. powder. My skin doesnt really do well with liquid foundations.. either that or tinted moisturizers.

    The only other Laura Mercier products I have used are their tinted moisturizer which is pretty; though are a lot of negative reviews about it because apparently it tends to make faces look shiny and it oxidizes (in my personal experience yes) but I still like it!

    Actually I would try NARS myself but I have a Dior refill ready to use! Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

