Flying in Style

Salma Hayek is a lucky woman.  Not only is she gorgeous, talented and has a super-adorable daughter, but she has VIP access to a luxury wardrobe courtesy of her billionaire husband, Francois-Henri Pinault, CEO of PPR, a luxury brand holding company that includes the Gucci Group (Gucci, Balenciaga, Alexander McQueen, Stella McCartney, Yves Saint Laurent and Bottega Veneta).  Not that she couldn’t afford it on her own as a successful actress, obviously, but I imagine she might get first dibs if she wants.

Even with money and access, some people still just don’t know how to put things together, but that is clearly not Salma’s problem.  She looks phenomenally chic, even when traveling through LAX.  She does the classic look incredibly well and I would snatch that entire outfit from her in a second.  She even makes me think that I, as a fellow short person, might be able to pull of voluminous jeans (with heels, of course).

  1. First off, I’m only 5 ft., and I’ve learned you can definitely pull off wide leg pants as a short person. The combo of a somewhat wide leg, heels and a high waist actually elongates your legs – I swear.

    Second, what no mention of the mini Salma? Look at that little fur vest! I’m jealous of a toddler’s clothes – sigh.

    • KateSouth
    • March 15th, 2010

    Valentina is utterly adorable, true! I just try to not comment too specifically on celebrities’ children just because I think it sometimes invites people who snark on the wee ones and I don’t want to encourage that. But she is already super stylish. I’m guessing her mama probably won’t perm her hair in 3rd grade so that she looks like a french poodle – not that that happened to me or anything, ahem.

    I’m 5′ 3″, so you are probably one of the few people who make me feel tall! I don’t know how it happens, but most of my friends are glorious amazons at 5′ 9″ at least, in college and law school. I will have to give the wide legs a try. Maybe it’s the high waist thing that does the trick. If it works out well, I might even do a self-outfit post and will definitely give you credit for giving me courage!

  2. Glad I could inspire you with my smallness! 🙂 The high waist with shirt tucked in is definitely the trick. (My 5’2″ cousin taught it to me – we’re a family of tiny people.)

  3. Wow, she’s a lucky woman indeed! Her daughter is absolutely adorable 🙂

    xx

  4. she is stunning! i would love to see her closet!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

