Oscar Lovelies

As much as I love movies, my favorite part about award shows is the red carpet.  The Oscars are the créme de la créme of the shows and usually produce the most glamorous, though not always adventurous, red carpet.  This year, however, was a lovely mix of the flat-out gorgeous and somewhat daring.

Tom Ford wears that tuxedo like it was made for him!  Okay, it actually was made for him, by him, so that helps…but still, he owns it.

Zoe Saldana took a chance here, and I think it really worked.  I know that some people on the internet have already criticized this choice, but she is dazzling and has the presence to pull it off.  It is sleek enough up top, and she avoided going too heavy on the jewelry that it remained balanced.

I’m not entirely sure why Nicole Richie is at the Oscars, but she looks like a film star from the 60s/70s.  Very retro chic, but not to the point of kitschy.

This dress is perfectly flattering on Queen Latifah, from the cut to the color to the finishing touches (the jewelry, the clutch).  She looks radiant and it fits her like a glove.

Colin Firth not only can wear a tux like nobody’s business, but he also seems like someone who would be so fun to know, just a happy man.  And what man wouldn’t be happy with that stunning lady on his arm?  I love the simplicity of the bodice paired with the asymmetrical shoulder ruffle and that unique clutch.

You can almost always count on Diane Kruger not to take the easy way out on a red carpet.  She consistently takes chances and they always seem to end up in her favor.  I love how, instead of being a simply pretty column all the way down, it is broken up with texture.  Gorgeous.

This may have been my favorite dress of the evening.  I love the color, I love the piping on the bodice.  I love the movement of the skirt.  Elisabeth Banks has fantastic comic timing, but this shows off her stylish side brilliantly well.

  1. I saw rachel McAdam`s dress and Anna Kendrick`s peach number… all gorgeous!

  2. I am sorry..but to me Nicole Richie looks like someone out of Addams family. I like the rest of the looks though.

    • KateSouth
    • March 8th, 2010

    I can kind of see the Morticia Addams resemblance, particularly with the eye makeup, but I can’t help but like it!

    • CT
    • March 8th, 2010

    I loved Rachel McAdams’ dress the most. It was gorgeous. I wasn’t crazy about Zoe’s choice, but I also don’t think it was the worst of the night like a lot of people seemed to think. That award either goes to SJP who just didn’t look good at all from head to toe, or Charlize for wearing fabric roses on her tatas. What a weird choice!

    Elizabeth Bank’s dress was stunning and while I didn’t like Kruger as much here as I did in the yellow number she wore to the Globes (i think it was the Globes) she still managed to pull off a rather daring choice and look stylish and as beautiful as ever.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

