Sunglasses Indoors Kind of Day

Whenever I have down time, such as over any break from school, I get sick.  It is entirely predictable and utterly unpreventable.  I almost thought I had escaped this curse because I had managed to stay perfectly healthy during this spring break, but Friday I felt a bit off, not sick, but something was not right.  I went to bed at 8:45 and slept until 9:00 the next morning.  Mid-day yesterday I started to get a migraine.  I should have known it was coming, but wanted to believe I could get through a break without something happening.  It was mild yesterday, but today the migraine is kicking my ass.  Because migraines are exacerbated by light, movement and sound, I am trying to stay as still as possible, avoid all loud sounds (and my yapping dogs are not helping), and stay out of the light – so I am wearing sunglasses indoors.  I feel like Taylor Jacobsen, Rachel Zoe’s former assistant:

Unfortunately, I am still wearing my pajamas, am huddled on the couch and am definitely not looking even 1/10th as chic at the moment.  Wearing the sunglasses has made me long for spring and realize I need to add another pair to my “collection.”  I seem to lose them easily and so at the moment I only have 2 lonely pairs.  One is a basic black, rectangular, ‘Jackie O’ Marc by Marc Jacobs style.  The other is a grayish-purple color aviator style by Calvin Klein.  Possible contenders for my next purchase are:

These “Jackie Ohh” Ray-Bans are a bit more rounded than the rectangular ones I already have, and I like the tortoise shell.

Aviators work with my face shape, and I don’t have anything gold, so these classic Ray-Bans would be a nice addition.

I like rings and earrings that are a bit odd, but I don’t really do wild sunglasses, so either of these would be in line with my sunglass style.  Beyond sunglasses, I still have a lot of other items I need to add to my wardrobe and shoes to be prepared for spring, but that is for another day…I feel my medicine kicking in and making me a bit ‘loopy’ so I am off to bed to try and sleep this migraine away.

  1. I love the tortoise shell pair! Unfortunately, I have an incredibly small face (so much so as to attract the attention of everyone in the optician’s office when I bought my first pair of glasses last month!), and I have a terrible time finding sunglasses. I have a perfect pair of Oliver Peoples though, and I’ll stick with them ’til they break.

  2. By the way – feel better! That should’ve been my fist comment.

    • KateSouth
    • February 28th, 2010

    Thanks! After a nap and some prescription meds, I feel a million times better. Finding sunglasses is difficult for me, too, because the bridge of my nose is narrower and/or lower than where most glasses would fit, so they always slide down or they squish my eyelashes, which is hugely annoying.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

