RIP Alexander McQueen

Alexander McQueen passed away today at the age of 40 due to an apparent suicide.  My lone ‘real-life’ friend who loves the fashion industry as much as I do texted me this morning with the news and my heart is aching.  In the coming days, particularly with fashion week upon us, his absence will be even more sorely noted.

Given the circumstances of his death, there is likely to be gossip about the ‘why’ of it all.  Some people might cast aside his death as a cowardly and selfish act.  As for me, my heart just hurts that he was obviously in severe anguish to have taken his life and I hope that he has found peace.  Suicide is impossible to understand by those who have never been in such a dark place as to contemplate it, and as such a person, I cannot pass judgment.  I can, however, empathize greatly with the friends and family, and wish them solace on the long and twisted road of grief and confusion that lies ahead.

He was a creative legend and he will be missed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

