Things My Dad Said: #1

I am a person who happens to adore her parents. My mom is many things, but one thing I particularly happen to love is when she gets mouthy to people who put down anyone she loves – her loyalty runs deep. My dad is a sensitive man who ended up with 3 daughters. He also has a great sense of humor, a million stories and some good one-liners.

To put this in context, I grew up in Alaska.  My dad spent months at a time in the bush fighting forest fires.  He has dealt with so much wildlife, including lots of bears.  From some of his stories, I’m honestly surprised he is still in one piece…I mean, wrap your mind around encountering 26 Kodiak Grizzly Bears during a fishing trip on Kodiak Island.  Glad I sat that one out.  In his dealings he has obviously managed to come out unscathed, but one choice phrase of wisdom he has offered, if you and some friends are ever in danger of being mauled by a bear (or any creature with lots of teeth, really) is:

“You don’t have to run fast.  You just have to run faster than one other person.”

Thanks, dad.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

