Parlez-vous français?


I certainly do not.  I speak Spanish fairly well, though it’s been a while since I had a use for it.  I understand bits and pieces of Korean, particularly words relating to food.  And, obviously, I speak English.  However, I have had a desire to learn French for quite a while.  I love the way the words sound, there are so many movies I want to watch without having to stare at the subtitles, and lots of fashion blogs happen to be in French…also, it seems the language of fashion is often French – Chanel anyone?

I just received an Amazon shipment containing a complete book of grammar and a Larousse French-English dictionary.  I am thinking that because I already know Spanish, a romance language, French should not be so difficult, except for maybe the pronunciation.  Does anyone have any great recommendations for websites, books or CDs that are particularly helpful for learning French?  Also, if anyone else in Philadelphia knows of any meet-ups for people trying to learn, I would love to join!

Photo Credit: Movie still from Amelie

    • Anna
    • February 10th, 2010

    hello! Just wandered over from Penny Luxe! I have heard that Rosetta stone is the best way to learn a language. I too love French, took it for a bit in high school after 5+ years of spanish, and I found it more difficult to learn a second romance language since I always wanted to slip into spanish. but that’s just me…..I ended up having a french girlfriend give me lessons, but also the BBC has a language site that I used to supplement. bonne chance!

      • KateSouth
      • February 10th, 2010

      I love Penny Luxe – I constantly check her site! I have always balked at the price of Rosetta, but I keep hearing it’s the way to go…now I just need to find a French friend and this BBC site you speak of! I’m sure I will probably confuse the vocabulary between French and Spanish, but at least the grammar structure is similar!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

